Western Association of Agricultural Experiment Station Directors


The Western Administrative Heads Section (W-AHS)

The Western Administrative Heads Section’s mission and purpose is to:
  • Provide leadership and organizational structure to guide and advise Western Region research, instructional, extension, international, and informational programs to identify needs and opportunities and to establish priorities of Western Region land-grant colleges of agriculture.
  • To coordinate the various aspects and plans to bring consistency and coherence to the total regional program.
  • To encourage, review, evaluate and recommend cooperative regional programs and activities.
These purposes shall include:
  • Provide communications and input/output linkages with the agricultural sector through the Western Council for Agricultural Research, Extension and Teaching (Western CARET), and other support organizations.
  • Suggest and recommend new and expanded areas for involvement by Western Region land-grant colleges of agriculture.
  • Review and recommend priorities among the various functions (Research, Instruction, Extension, Service, International).
  • Develop public support.
  • Serve as a sounding board for emerging issues.
  • Help enhance public interpretation of agriculture and related programs.
  • Stimulate cooperation and communication among county, state, regional, and national advisory groups and support organizations.
  • Communicate program priorities and fiscal needs to the appropriate planning and funding sources.

Important documents

Description and linkNotes
Association By-lawsRevised July 21, 2009

W-AHS Meetings and Minutes

Year Location Minutes
2023 Richland, WA
2022 Concord, CA
2021 Virtual
2020 Virtual
2019 Albuquerque, NM
2018 Tumon, GU
2017 Portland, OR
2016 Bozeman, MT
2015 Breckenridge, CO
2014 Lake Tahoe, NV
2013 Coeur d’Alene, ID
2012 Park City, UT
2011 Honolulu, HI
July 12-15, 2010 Tucson, AZ
July 19-22, 2009 Blaine, WA
July 6-9, 2008 Fairbanks, AK Minutes
July 15-18, 2007 Jackson, WY
July 9-12, 2006 Monterey, CA Minutes
July 10-13, 2005 Santa Fe, NM Minutes
July 13-16, 2003 Newport, OR Minutes

Joint Summer Meeting Rotation

Host State Last year hosted Last meeting venue Next year hosting Next year meeting location
Arizona 1996 Tucson 2010 Tucson
Hawaii 1997 Kihei, Maui 2011 Honolulu
Utah 1998 Park City 2012 Park City
Idaho 1999 Sun Valley 2013 Coeur d’Alane
Nevada 2000 Lake Tahoe 2014 Lake Tahoe (Bill Payne, Chair)
Colorado 2001 Keystone Resort 2015 Breckenridge (Craig Beyrouty, Chair)
Montana 2002 Big Sky Resort 2016 Bozeman (Charles Boyer, Chair)
Oregon 2003 Otter Crest Resort 2017 Portland (Dan Arp, Chair)
Guam 2004 Mangilao 2018 Mangilao (Lee Yudin, Chair)
New Mexico 2005 Santa Fe 2019 Albuquerque, NM (Rolando Flores, Chair)
California 2006 Monterey 2020 Virtual (Glenda Humiston, Chair)
Wyoming 2007 Jackson 2021 Virtual (Barbara Rasco, Chair)
Alaska 2008 Fairbanks 2022 Concord, CA (Pete Pinney, Chair)
Washington 2009 Semiahmoo 2023 Richland, WA (S. Hulbert, Chair)

Contact Us

Western Association of Agricultural Experiment Station Directors
5890 Brittania Drive
Reno, NV 89523
Phone: (307) 760-3319