ESS Awards

The Experiment Station Section presents two awards annually:

ESS Awards for Excellence in Leadership

Up to five awards, one from each ESS region, will be presented each year at the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities (APLU) Annual Meeting to recognize those who have served the Regional Associations, the Experiment Station Section (ESS) and/or the national Land-Grant System with exemplary distinction.  Through this person’s leadership, he/she shall have personified the highest level of excellence by enhancing the cause and performance of the Regional Associations and ESS in achieving their missions and the Land-Grant ideal.

Eligible for this award are former or current Directors or Associate Directors, who have provided service in a State Agricultural Experiment Station (SAES) as assistant director, associate director, director, or as chief operating officers with equivalent but variant titles (e.g. vice chancellor, associate vice chancellor, associate vice president, dean for research) and/or as a regional executive director.  This award is distinctive in its expectations and not necessarily coincident with retirement, election to specific office or any other specific professional benchmark.

Nominations for the recognition should be submitted to the Regional Associations by February 1 of each year. In the Western Region, awardees will be selected by a committee made up of the two At-Large members of the WAAESD Executive Committee, the incoming Chair, and either the ED or the AD. Discussion and selection will take place immediately following the Executive Committee meeting during the annual Spring Meeting.  Click here for award details and complete nomination information.

Return to top

Multistate Research Award

The Experiment Station Section Excellence in Multistate Research Award program is give annually recognize those scientists who are conducting exemplary multistate activities and in doing so enhance the visibility of the multistate program. A recipient Multistate Project will be selected from the pool of nominees submitted by the five regional research associations (NCRA, NERA, SAAESD, WAAESD, and ARD), and deemed by the review panel to exhibit sustained, meritorious and exceptional multistate activities.

Any currently active  Multistate Project listed in the NIMSS ( is eligible for consideration for an Excellence in Multistate Research Award.

Nominations must be submitted to the Western Directors’ Office by February 28th. Click here for award details and complete nomination information.

Return to top