Western Association of Agricultural Experiment Station Directors

Academic Directors

The Western Academic Program Section (W-APS)

The Academic Program Section (APS) is comprised of the principal officer(s) responsible for academic or instructional programs (undergraduate, graduate, and continuing education) offered by the faculty within colleges of agriculture and related disciplines. It is one of six sections within the Board on Agriculture Assembly (BAA) of the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities (APLU). The others are the Experiment Station Section, the Extension Programs Section, the Administrative Heads Section, the International Programs Section, and the 1890 Association of Research Directors. A representative drawn from the APS membership elected by the BAA delegates represents the Academic Program Section on the BAA Policy Board of Directors.

Academic Programs Section members represent 120 different institutions that include the 1862 land-grants, 1890 land-grants, 1994 land-grants, and 5 non-land-grant institutions. It also includes the 40+ institutions belonging to American Association of State Colleges of Agriculture and Renewable Resources (AASCARR). The AASCARR organization and its institutions are affiliate members of APS. Thus, in total, APS represents 160+ institutions having academic programs in agriculture, natural resources, life, and related sciences.

There are four regional sections of APS, the south, northeast, north central and west, and each of these are represented by an officer (ie, Past President, President, President-Elect and Secretary) on the Executive Committee. Elected officers have a 4-year commitment to the Executive Committee that begins with their tenure as secretary and progresses through president-elect, president and past president positions. A region ensures its representation on the APS Executive Committee by electing a new APS secretary once every four years.

A Field Guide to the Academic Programs Section (APS)

Important documents

Description and link Notes
Association By-laws Revised July 12, 2017
Association By-laws Adopted July 16, 2003

Annual Director Meetings

Year Location Minutes
2022 Concord, CA, June 29, 2022 Minutes
2021 Zoom Meeting, June 28, 2021 Minutes
2020 Zoom Meeting, June 30, 2020 Minutes
2019 Albuquerque, NM, July 10, 2019 Minutes
2018 Tumon, Guam, July 10-12, 2018 Minutes
2017 Portland, OR, July 11-12, 2017 Minutes
2016 Bozeman, MT, July 11-14, 2016 Minutes
2015 Breckenridge, CO, July 8, 2015 W-APD 2015 Minutes
2014 Reno, NV, July 10, 2014 Minutes
2014 Washington, D.C., February 27, 2014 Minutes
2013 Coeur d’Alene, ID, July 16-17, 2013 Minutes
2012 Denver, CO, November 12, 2012 Minutes
2012 Park City, UT, July 10, 2012 Minutes
2011 Washington, DC, March 3, 2011 Minutes
2010 Dallas, TX, November 14-16, 2010 Minutes
2009 Washington, DC, November 15-17, 2009 Minutes
2009 Blaine, WA, July 19-22, 2009 Minutes
2008 Chicago, IL, November 10, 2008 Minutes
2008 Fairbanks, AK, July 7, 2008 Minutes
2007 Jackson Hole, WY, July 16, 2007 Minutes
2006 Houston, TX, November 13, 2006 Minutes
2006 Monterey, CA, July 10, 2006 Minutes
2005 Washington, DC, November 13, 2005 Minutes
2004 Tumon, GU, June 21-23, 2004 Minutes
2003 New Orleans, LA, November 16, 2003 Minutes

Academic Program Directors

Year Chair Chair-Elect/ Secretary Past Chair Representative to ACOP
2023 Don Connor (NM) Kate Moots (UOG) Don Connor (NM)
2022 Kate Moots (UOG) Ania Wieczorek (HI) Claus Tittiger (NV) Kate Moots (UOG)
2021 Kate Moots (UOG) Ania Wieczorek (HI) Claus Tittiger (NV) Kate Moots (UOG)
2020 Claus Tittiger (NV) Kate Moots (UOG) Tracy Dougher (MT) Claus Tittiger (NV)
2019 Tracy Dougher (MT) Claus Tittiger (NV) Brian Warnick (UT) Tracy Dougher (MT)
2018 Brian Warnick (UT) Tracy Dougher (MT) Penny Diebel (OR)
2017 Penny Diebel (OR) Brian Warnick (UT) David Shintani (NV)
2016 David Shintani (NV) Penny Diebel (OR) Donna Brown (WY)
2015 Donna Brown (WY) David Shintani (NV) Nora Smith (MT)
2014 Nora Smith (MT) Donna Brown (WY) Cary Green (OR) Nancy Irlbeck (Chair of ACOP)
2013 Cary Green (OR) Nora Smith (MT) Joseph M. Broder (GA)
2012 Joseph M. Broder (GA) Cary Green (OR) Don L. Boggs (KS)
2011 Charles Boyer (CA-F) Joseph Broder (GA) Nancy Irlbeck (CO)
2010 Nancy Irlbeck (CO) Charles Boyer (CA-F) John Foltz (ID)
2009 Nancy Irlbeck (CO) Charles Boyer (CA-F) Charles Kinoshita (HI)
2008 John Foltz (ID) Nancy Irlbeck (CO) Charles Kinoshita (HI)
2007 Charles Kinoshita (HI) John Foltz (ID) Wes Holley (NM)
2006 Wes Holley (NM) Charles Kinoshita (HI) (Vacant)
2005 Annie King (CA-D) Wes Holley (NM) Eric Fritzell (OR) (retired)
2004 Erik Fritzell (OR) Annie King (CA-B) Marlene Hapai (HI)
2003 Marlene Hapai (HI) Erik Fritzell (OR) James Wangberg (WY)
2002 James Wangberg (WY) Marlene Hapai (HI) David Cox (AZ)
2001 David Cox (AZ) James Wangberg (WY) Annie King (CA-D)

Western Region Teaching Symposium Rotation

Host State Last Meeting Hosted Next Meeting Hosted
Colorado State 1992 2005
Utah State 1993 2006
Arizona 1994 2007
New Mexico State 1995 2008
Nevada 1996 2009
Oregon State 1997 2010
Idaho 1998 2011
Washington State 1999 2012
Wyoming 2000 2013
Hawaii 2001 2014
California 2002
Montana State 2003
Open 2004

Teaching Symposium Notes
2010 Western Region Teaching Symposium Notes


    1. Mental Health for Administrators, Faculty, Staff and Students (Support animals, etc.)
      • The webinar can be viewed here.
      • The materials related to it can be found here.


    2. Additional recommended resources:


Contact Us

Western Association of Agricultural Experiment Station Directors
5890 Brittania Drive
Reno, NV 89523
Phone: (307) 760-3319